Mountaineering tourism conference kicks off

Dhaulagiri MountainKathmandu, Nov 18: A two-day mountaineering tourism conference kicked off here today coinciding with the diamond jubilee of the ascent on the Mount Makalu and Mount Kanchenjunga.

The conference jointly organised by the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation, Nepal Tourism Board, Nepal Mountaineering Association, Union of Asian Alpine and ISET- Nepal commenced discussions on impact of climate change and last year’s earthquake on mountaineering tourism.

The first climb on the Mt Makalu was made on May 15, 1955 and on the Kanchenjunga Peak on May 25 same year.

Speaking at the inaugural session of the conference, Tourism Ministry’s under-secretary Dhundhi Ghimire, Union of Asian Alpine’s Chair Dr Lee In-jeung, Union of International Alpine representative Sophi Gerald and Association President Ang Tshering Sherpa said the promotion of Nepal’s mountaineering tourism can be a good and sustainable resource of income.

On the occasion of the diamond jubilee of the first climb on the Mt Makalu (8,486 meters), the fifth highest mountain in the world, special celebrations will be held in Sankhuwasabha on November 21 and in Taplejung on November 22.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari will attend the celebrations in Sankhuwasabha as a Chief Guest while Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal will be the Chief Guest for the programme in Taplejung, it was shared at the inaugural session.

The Asian Mountaineering Federation’s general assembly was organised here in coinciding with the conference. RSS

Related News

Comments are closed

TOP NEWSview all

Efforts are underway to send US vaccines to Nepal: Ambassador Khatiwada

Govt. to resume Vaccination Campaign from May 16

CAAN asks not to charge high fare in name of Emergency Flight

NRNA to supply Oxygen Concentrators to Nepal

Kami Rita scales Everest 25 times; Tourism Ministry appeals not to disseminate fake information

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Kishore Thapa

Web Counter