Nepal ranked 130 in the TI Corruption Perception Index 2015

TransparancyKathmandu / January 27: Nepal has been ranked 130th in the Corruption Perception Index 2015 released by the Transparency International here on Wednesday.

The index covers perceptions of public sector corruption in 168 countries. Denmark took the top spot for the 2nd year running, with North Korea and Somalia the worst performers, scoring just 8 points each.

Top performers share key characteristics: high levels of press freedom; access to budget information so the public knows where money comes from and how it is spent; high levels of integrity among people in power; and judiciaries that don’t differentiate between rich and poor, and that are truly independent from other parts of government, according to TI statement released worldwide today.

In 2015, Nepal received 25 points out of 100, which is two less than in 2014, showing a rise in perceived corruption in the country.

Speaking at a programme held to share the report here today, Chairperson of TI Nepal Bharat Bahadur Thapa pointed out the need for coordination and commitment of the executive, judiciary and legislative in order to minimize corruption that has a negative impact on nation and nationality.

Transparency International has been released the CPI since 1995, and Nepal was included in it from 2004. RSS

Related News

Leave a Reply

टाइप गरेर स्पेस थिच्नुहोस् र नेपाली युनिकोडमा पाउनुहोस। (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Nepali OR just Click on the letter). अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न "अ" मा थिच्नुहोस्।

Advertise Section 7

TOP NEWSview all

Clean Nepal is possible as over 23 million people are willing to contribute: Khem Sharma

Even though it’s late, victims will get something from the commission: Subedi

Cecil and Harambe; a lesson for Himalayan Republic

Trip Down under

We want real conversion of our students beyond religion: Fr. Boniface Tigga, Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Pratibedan Baidya