KMC awaiting permission for reconstruction of heritages

Hanuman DhokaKathmandu / June 14: Reconstruction of the most of earthquake-affected heritages in the capital is yet to start.

The Kathmandu Metropolitan City (KMC) Office has said it is awaiting permission from the Department of Archeology to commence the reconstruction of disaster-hit heritages with the archeological importance in the city.

Office Spokesperson Gyanendra Karki said though the rebuilding of the disaster-affected structure is one of the priorities of the new budget, the Office was looking for an approval from the Department to start the reconstruction of heritages left either damaged or destroyed by the disaster. The Office was pressing the Department to take the decision on the matter soon. We would immediately go for the reconstruction works once we got permission from the Department, he said.

Singha Durbar, country’s main administrative center, Hanumandhoka and Dharahara are among those heritages with a significant archeological importance hit by the disaster.

Besides, disputes have surfaced regarding the reconstruction of the KMC Office’s old building. Earlier, the Office decided to demolish its damaged building and build a new one. But the Department withheld the plan, citing for the protection of the Rana-period architecture. RSS

Related News

Leave a Reply

टाइप गरेर स्पेस थिच्नुहोस् र नेपाली युनिकोडमा पाउनुहोस। (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Nepali OR just Click on the letter). अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न "अ" मा थिच्नुहोस्।

Advertise Section 7

TOP NEWSview all

Clean Nepal is possible as over 23 million people are willing to contribute: Khem Sharma

Even though it’s late, victims will get something from the commission: Subedi

Cecil and Harambe; a lesson for Himalayan Republic

Trip Down under

We want real conversion of our students beyond religion: Fr. Boniface Tigga, Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Pratibedan Baidya