350 electricity thieves face action in Saptari

ElectricitySaptari / Nov 29: Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) has taken action against 350 electricity thieves from Saptari in the past five months. A total of around Rs 2.7 million was also collected in revenue from them.

A joint monitoring team from the District Police Office and NEA district branch office acted against electricity theft as part of a campaign to control electricity leakage currently underway in the district.

Chief of the branch office, Rajbiraj Ram Udgar Sah said some equipments used in stealing electricity were also confiscated.

Likewise, the NEA also disconnected electricity supplied illegally through hooking to approximately 5,000 households, he said.

Meanwhile, 252 electricity consumers of Jhapa district have faced action in the past five months for failing to pay electricity bills on time.

Arrears of Rs 6.3 million has also been collected from the defaulters. Rajib Kumar Singh, chief engineer at the district branch of the NEA, said a total of 354 consumers have been enlisted for punishment for their failure to pay electricity bills on time and it aims to collect arrears of approximately Rs 11 million from them.

“For those who failed to pay the bills of more than two months, power supply to their houses would be cut off at any time,” he said.

Likewise, the NEA branch has confiscated equipments used in stealing electricity valued at around Rs 500,000 from electricity thieves from Sharanamati, Kankai Municipality and Madargachha in the district as part of a campaign against electricity theft in the district. RSS

Related News

Comments are closed

TOP NEWSview all

19 injured on first day of Bisket Jatra

266 new cases of COVID-19; suspects entering Valley to undergo Antigen Tests

Nepal has to focus on exporting value-added products recommends EU Ambassador Deprez

Govt to provide Rs 4 lakh to wining Nepali football team

Health insurance reaches 77 districts

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Kishore Thapa

Web Counter