Election in only 461 local level-units: EC

Election CommissionKathmandu / May 25:At a time when Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav is reiterating that the local level election will be conducted on June 14 in added local-level units as well, the Election commission (EC), on Thursday, has made clear that it would not be able to hold the election in those places on the stipulated date.

Issuing a press release on Thursday, the EC has urged the government to create the environment to hold the election in only 461 local-level units that do not include those units added by the government on May 16.

“It is technically difficult for the EC to prepare the voter lists and details of ward-wise voting centers of the revised village councils and municipalities and take the prepared lists to all the local units by May 29,” read a statement issued by the EC.

The EC has informed that the Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development has not provided the details of the revised structure of village councils and the municipalities for election preparations.

The EC has informed that it would not be possible to make arrangement for delivering the voter ID cards of the people whose address has changed within the deadline.

The government on Monday had decided to increase the number of local- units in Tarai districts and upgraded two sub-metropolises Birgunj and Biratnagar to metropolises as per the demand from the agitating Madhesi force.

Related News

Leave a Reply

टाइप गरेर स्पेस थिच्नुहोस् र नेपाली युनिकोडमा पाउनुहोस। (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Nepali OR just Click on the letter). अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न "अ" मा थिच्नुहोस्।

Advertise Section 7

TOP NEWSview all

Clean Nepal is possible as over 23 million people are willing to contribute: Khem Sharma

Even though it’s late, victims will get something from the commission: Subedi

Cecil and Harambe; a lesson for Himalayan Republic

Trip Down under

We want real conversion of our students beyond religion: Fr. Boniface Tigga, Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Pratibedan Baidya