High-level committee formed to provide relief to agro sector

agricultureKathmandu / Aug. 13: The Agriculture Development Ministry has formed a high-level committee to provide immediate relief after carrying out study of losses incurred by the agro sector in the recent flood and landslide following incessant rainfall.

An emergency meeting of chiefs of bodies concerned under the chairmanship of Minister Ram Krishna Yadav took the decision in this regard.

Agro Secretary Dr Suroj Pokharel is the Coordinator of the Committee where Executive Director of the Nepal Agriculture Research Council, Chief of Planning Division of the Ministry, Chief of Administrative Division, Chief of Food Security, Agro Business Promotion and Environment Division, Chief of Policy and International Cooperation Division, Director General of Department of Agriculture, Director General of Department of Food Technology and Quality Control are the members.

Similarly, the Joint-Secretary of the Monitoring and Evaluation Division of the Ministry is the member-secretary of the committee.

On the occasion, Minister Yadav directed to form teams under the leadership of Regional Agriculture Director to help the Committee and to submit details about the losses of the agro sector as well as damage to physical infrastructure within three days.

The Committee would submit a preliminary report today itself, according to the Ministry.

Similarly, chiefs of the subordinate bodies of the Ministry briefed the meeting about the losses caused by landslide and flood in agro sector as well as suggested about the measures to be adopted for temporary relief measures. RSS

Related News

Comments are closed

TOP NEWSview all

FNCCI calls applications from Startups

Nepal beats Netherland By 9 wickets

19 injured on first day of Bisket Jatra

266 new cases of COVID-19; suspects entering Valley to undergo Antigen Tests

Nepal has to focus on exporting value-added products recommends EU Ambassador Deprez

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Kishore Thapa

Web Counter