UML, CPN (MC) and Naya Shakti alliance taskforces given deadline to complete works; 33-party alliance joins the left alliance

Merger of Commuist PartiesKathmandu / / Oct 5: Two separate task force constituted following the agreement among the CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Center) and Naya Shakti Nepal to forge an electoral alliance for the upcoming House of Representatives and State Assemblies elections have been given the deadline to complete the assigned task.

As per the agreement, the UML and Maoist Center are to share seats in the 60-40 ratio in the upcoming elections towards the direct system.

The taskforce meant for determining the electoral constituency has been directed to prepare a report within the next three days.

The three political parties on Tuesday announced their alliance what they termed the ‘leftist alliance’ for the upcoming elections slated for late this year, promising to go with the process to merge them or for party unification in the days ahead.

Following the same understanding, two separate taskforces were formed Wednesday to determine electoral constituencies and prepare the joint election manifesto.

In the very first joint meeting of both taskforces took place at the Singha Durbar-based CPN (UML) Parliamentary party office today, UML chair KP Sharma Oli and CPN (MC) chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal and other top leaders of both political parties gave deadline to both bodies to complete the task.

The second taskforce has been instructed to prepare draft of the election manifesto within the next seven days.

Talking to media following the meeting, member in the second taskforce Naya Shakti Nepal’s leader Ganga Shrestha said they were directed to incorporate the issues of constitution, democracy and social justice in the election manifesto.

Bishnu Poudel and Surendra Pandey from the CPN (UML); Ram Bahadur Thapa, Barshaman Pun and Matrika Yadav from the CPN (MC); and Ganga Shrestha from the Nayashakti are in the constituency determination taskforce.

A taskforce assigned to prepare the draft of joint election manifesto comprises Bamdev Gautam, Bhim Rawal and Pradeep Gyawali from the UML; Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Dev Gurung and Bishwa Bhakta Dulal from the Maoist Centre and Dambar Khatiwada and Dr Laxmi Devkota from Naya Shakti. RSS

33-party alliance to participate in polls with ‘sickle-hammer’ symbol

Meanwhile, an alliance of 33 fringe political parties will be taking part in the upcoming polls with ‘sickle and hammer’ as the election symbol of CPN Maoist Centre.

The alliance unveiled its decision on Thursday afternoon, following the announcement of an electoral alliance among CPN UML, CPN Maoist Centre and Naya Shakti Party Nepal for the forthcoming November 26 and December 7 elections and eventually taking the parties towards merger.

The 33-party alliance coordinator Yubraj Safal said they had decided to take part in the elections with the election symbol of the CPN MC, welcoming the decision to form the leftist alliance terming it as the ‘progressive force’.

He has called on all ‘patriotic’ and leftist forces to stand with the leftist alliance.

Likewise, Samajbadi Janata Dal and Janajagaran Party Nepal have decided to join the elections with the election symbol of the CPN MC.

The Samajbadi Janata Dal led by Prem Bahadur Singh and Janajagaran Party headed by Lokmani Dhakal has one member each in the Legislature-Parliament.

Meanwhile, the CPN United has already determined to participate in the election with the CPN MC Election symbol, taking the broad leftist unity positively, party leader Padam Raj Joshi said. RSS

Related News

Leave a Reply

टाइप गरेर स्पेस थिच्नुहोस् र नेपाली युनिकोडमा पाउनुहोस। (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Nepali OR just Click on the letter). अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न "अ" मा थिच्नुहोस्।

Advertise Section 7

TOP NEWSview all

Clean Nepal is possible as over 23 million people are willing to contribute: Khem Sharma

Even though it’s late, victims will get something from the commission: Subedi

Cecil and Harambe; a lesson for Himalayan Republic

Trip Down under

We want real conversion of our students beyond religion: Fr. Boniface Tigga, Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Pratibedan Baidya