Over 3,000 benefit from eye camp under health campaign in Chitwan

eyeChitwan / Nov 8: As many as 3,000 people have been benefitted from the ‘Eye Camp for Chitwan’, a health campaign recently launched with an objective to make Chitwan district blindness-free.

The campaign spearheaded by German national Catria offered free eye checkup camps to the patients in various eight remote places in the districts, including three places in Ratnanagar, two in Kalika Municipality and Bharatpur Municipality and one each in Rapti, Madi and Bharatpur Municipality.

A fundraising programme was launched in various places in Germany for offering eye-care services to the people in Chitwan.

A local social organisation Support and Care Drug Rehabilitation Centre is facilitating the campaign. Centre’s Chief Raj Bindu Gautam shared that the majority of the people visiting the free eye check up camps were children and elderly.

The Bharatpur-based National Eye Hospital had provided technical assistance for the same while the glasses and medicines were procured from Germany.

Surgery of eyes was conducted in around 50 patients and around 2,000 glasses were distributed while all the expenses required for the treatment of the eye patients was borne by the campaign itself.

The 15-day campaign was launched in various phases, added Centre’s Chief Gautam. RSS

Related News

Leave a Reply

टाइप गरेर स्पेस थिच्नुहोस् र नेपाली युनिकोडमा पाउनुहोस। (Press Ctrl+g to toggle between English and Nepali OR just Click on the letter). अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न "अ" मा थिच्नुहोस्।

Advertise Section 7

TOP NEWSview all

Clean Nepal is possible as over 23 million people are willing to contribute: Khem Sharma

Even though it’s late, victims will get something from the commission: Subedi

Cecil and Harambe; a lesson for Himalayan Republic

Trip Down under

We want real conversion of our students beyond religion: Fr. Boniface Tigga, Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Pratibedan Baidya