Govt underperforms on capital expenditure- first quarterly review of current fiscal year

government logoKathmandu / Nov 21: The government has made the first quarterly review of the policy and programs of the current fiscal year, where it found no basis to be satisfied with the capital expenditure.

The review meeting chaired by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli underscored the need to increase capital expenditure, which was around 18 percent in the review period.

On the occasion, PM Oli directed the ministers and secretaries to work with the spirit of accomplishing the targets set by the budget and the policy and programs. In the next quarterly review, the government needs to meet the targets, he added.

Finance Minister Dr Yubaraj Khatiwada shared that the progress of the ministries of physical infrastructures, urban development, energy, hydro recourse and irrigation, agriculture and livestock and the National Reconstruction Authority was reviewed at the meeting.

In addition to the progress review, the problems in the implementation of the policy and programs were also shared. According to him, based on the logical reasons, the Finance Ministry has allowed budget even to the non-budgetary demands to the Ministries which have failed to meet the capital expenditure. “In case of difficulty, the transfer of the budget within the ministry could be allowed,” he however said.

Minister Dr Khatiwada hoped that the government could reach near the target by coping with the challenges surfaced in the structures levels.

The review will continue on Thursday and Saturday too. RSS

Related News

Comments are closed

TOP NEWSview all

KMC to build 100-bed special hospital

Nepal’s proposal to graduate from LDC status to be presented in UNGA for endorsement

World Bank to provide US $ 60 million to strengthen Nepal’s higher education

32,500 metric ton Urea arrives in Nepal

Writ petition filed in Supreme Court against reshuffle of cabinet

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Kishore Thapa

Web Counter