All party probe committee demanded on Rukum murder case

Kathmandu / May 27: The lawmakers speaking at the House of Representatives meeting today demanded an all party probe committee on the murder of youths over the inter caste marriage bid in Rukum Paschim.

Speaking at the zero hour of the parliament meeting, the lawmakers stressed the need that the gruesome murder must not be politicized.

Lawmaker Min Bishwokarma blamed that the incident occurred due to the recklessness of the local administration and police persons.

Lawmaker Bimala Nepali demanded the declaration of social martyrs to those killed in the incident and formation of a parliamentary probe committee on it, while lawmaker Mahindra Kumari Limbu demanded all-party probe committee on it.

Lawmaker Yeshoda Kumari Gurung demanded everyone not to politicize the Rukum incident. Laxmi Pariyar wondered why the laws to discourage caste discrimination were not fully implemented.

Dead bodies of three youths including Nawaraj BK were recovered from Bheri River after a group of youths moving to Chaurajahari Municipality-8, Rukum, was attacked by the locals four days back, reasoning BK was attempting for inter-caste marriage with Sushma Malla. Three youths are still missing since the attack.

Unity forged against land encroachment

Dr Minendra Rijal appreciated an all-party meeting called for holding consultations on constitution amendment and said it was very positive to see the understanding of one and all was forming on the matter lately. He also urged the government to start a new practice of keeping the parliamentarians informed about the decisions of those meetings.

Likewise Mohan Baniya expressed his happiness over the new political and administrative map of Nepal including India-encroached territories and urged the government to bring back those India-controlled territories through talks.

Meena Subba requested the government not to grow cold feet while bringing back Nepal’s territories. Ram Bahadur Bista said it was a matter of grave sorrow that India encroached upon Nepal’s territories overlooking the contributions made by Nepalis in India’s freedom movement.

Rekha Sharma congratulated the government of Nepal for issuing a new political map including Nepali territories Lipulekh, Kalapani and Limpiyadhura and appealed to the government to bring back those encroached territories through diplomatic channels.

Matrika Prasad Yadav drew the attention of the government towards addressing the COVID-19 crisis for long-term. Rajendra Prasad Gautam voiced for those daily wagers hit hard by lockdown as the lockdown continues to be extended. He demanded with the government to introduce special relief packages for them.

Bimala BK said that a lab should be built in Bardiya district and those returning from India should be compulsorily put on test for the infection.

Bharat Kumar Sah lamented that the farmers had not got rice seeds yet as the monsoon season was beginning for paddy plantation.
Bhinsendas Pradhan spoke for the need to screen all those coming into Kathmandu Valley and put them in quarantine to prevent the further spread of COVID-19.

Bhairav Bahadur Singh said that India had not treated Nepalis stranded in India during the lockdown as fairly as the criteria of the WHO.
Bimal Prasad Shreevastav demanded evacuation of stranded Nepalis in India.

Parliamentarians Bhawani Prasad Khapung, Maheshworjung Gahatraj, Rekha Kumari and Laxmi Kumari Chaudhary among others also raised concerns about contemporary issues and drew the attention of the government for its positive intervention.

Related News

Comments are closed

TOP NEWSview all

Nepal’s Kushal Bhurtel nominated for ICC Men’s Player of the month award

Nepal climbs a notch up in T-20 ranking and ranked 13th

US pledges $8.5 million to Nepal to fight against COVID-19 pandemic

NOC says there won’t be shortage of petroleum products despite prohibitory orders

SC bars CIAA from conducting Sting Operations

Positive Development Media Pvt. Ltd. / Regd. No: 232 / 073-74

Kathmandu, Nepal


Editor : Mr. Divesh J.B. Rana Chairperson : Mr. Kishore Thapa

Web Counter